Testa Team, Van Drew Support CapeGOP Chairman

first_imgCongressman Jeff Van Drew, state Sen. Michael Testa and Assemblymen-elect Erik Simonsen and Antwan McClellan have officially endorsed Cape May County Regular Republican Organization Chairman Marcus Karavan for a second, four-year term as the leader of the CapeGOP.On Jan. 6, Karavan formally submitted his letter of intent to seek re-election to CapeGOP Vice-Chairs Susan Adelizzi-Schmidt and Timothy Donohue.“I am truly honored to lead this proud Republican organization,” Karavan said in a press release. “The hard work and unwavering commitment shown by our CapeGOP candidates and supporters has proven that unity, unselfish teamwork and remaining true to our core political principles are the key to our continued success.”“If we stay focused and united, the future of our movement is bright,” he continued. “I hope to retain the trust and commitment of our members and with your help and guidance, continue to lead the CapeGOP in 2020 and beyond.”During his first full term, beginning in June 2017, Karavan has shepherded the CapeGOP through four years of electoral success, culminating in the capture of the Senate and Assembly seats in the First Legislative District in 2019.Republicans have retained their control of all county-wide elected positions and now hold every municipal seat in most of the county’s largest communities. They hold 5-0 advantages in Lower, Dennis and Upper Townships and, for the first time ever, a 3-0 Republican majority in Middle Township.The political year in 2019 was capped by the historic switch of Van Drew from Democrat to Republican in the Second Congressional District.“Chairman Karavan has done an amazing job of leading the Cape May County Republican party, fielding and supporting excellent candidates and staying true to the conservative values and founding principles that make America great,” Van Drew said in the press release.He added, “It is critical that the CapeGOP remain united and focused on its mission, under Marcus’s proven leadership, as we move into the 2020 campaign season. I’m honored to stand with Chairman Karavan and call on all Cape May County elected officials to join me, along with Sen. Testa and our Assemblymen-elect, in endorsing the Chairman’s intentions to seek a second term.”Cape May County Republican County Committee members will convene shortly after the June primary to choose the party’s leadership slate for the next four years.“What Marcus and the CapeGOP have accomplished in Cape May County in recent years has put our movement on the political map, not only in New Jersey, but in Washington and beyond,” said Sen. Testa, who also chairs the GOP in Cumberland County. “I’ve been honored to work side by side with Chairman Karavan, partnering to strengthen both of our organizations.”Testa continued, “The unity of purpose displayed by the elected officials and rank and file Republicans in the CapeGOP has led to historic gains by our party during Marc’s tenure and the advancement of sound and sane government across South Jersey. On behalf of our United States Congressman Jeff Van Drew and in unison with our Assemblymen-elect Simonsen and McClellan, I call on my fellow Republicans to stand united with Chairman Karavan in what will be a pivotal and historic 2020 political year.” From left, Cumberland County Republican Chairman Michael Testa, Congressman Jeff Van Drew and Cape May County GOP Chairman Marcus Karavan.last_img read more

Read More →